Cardioceras

Cardioceras (Neumayr and Uhlig, 1881) - the genus from ammonite family Cardioceratidae. Cardioceras descended from genus Quenstedtoceras at the border between Callovian and Oxfordian. They differed from Quenstedtoceras clearly expressed keel, however this keel is observed in the last Quenstedtoceras. Formally Cardioceras genus existed until the middle Oxfordian, but they did not became extinct, they turned into a Amoeboceras genus.

Early representatives of Cardioceras were very diverse, some of them placed on separate genera: Pavloviceras, Goliathiceras, Pachycardioceras, etc. Among Cardioceras described some subgenera, the largest of which can be considered Scarburgiceras with smooth shells and Vertebriceras with strong lateral lobes on the edges.

Dimorphism in the genus Cardioceras was expressed in size, as well as in significant smoothing of living chamber sculpture of macroconch shells.  However, their microconch were rather large, with an average phragmocone diameter about 5-7 cm, macroconchs had a diameter of 20-25 cm. Microconchs of Cardioceras genus had no lateral  projections on their apertures, however they had long ventral projection (rostrum). All representatives of Cardioceratidae family had more or less long rostrums.

 

Ammonite Cardioceras

 

 

Ammonite Cardioceras

 

Cardioceras ammonite shell

 

Ammonite Cardioceras

 

 

water analysis in Moscow

Cardioceras

Cardioceras (Neumayr and Uhlig, 1881) - род аммонитов семейства Cardioceratidae. Cardioceras произошли от аммонитов рода Quenstedtoceras на границе келловея и оксфорда. От Quenstedtoceras отличался явно выраженным килем, хотя такой киль наблюдается и у послендих Quenstedtoceras. Формально род Cardioceras существовал до среднего оксфорда, но он не вымер, а превратился в род Amoeboceras.

Ранние представители Cardioceras были очень разнообразны, некоторых из них  выделяют в отдельные рода Pavloviceras, Goliathiceras, Pachycardioceras  и т.д. Среди Cardioceras выделяют несколько подродов, самыми крупными из которых можно считать Scarburgiceras с более гладкой раковиной и Vertebriceras с выраженными боковыми лопастями на ребрах.

Диморфизм у рода Cardioceras выражался в размерах, а также в заметном скглаживании скульптуры у макроконхов на жилой камере. Впрочем, микроконхи у них были довольно крупные, со средним диаметром фрагмокона 5-7 см, макроконхи имели диаметр до 20-25 см. Латеральных устьевых выростов у микроконхов них не было, как и у всех Cardioceratidae, но на устье располагался длинный вентральный ростр.

 

Аммонит Cardioceras

 

 

Аммонит Cardioceras

 

Аммонит Cardioceras

 

Аммонит Cardioceras

 

 

анализ воды